Shurijo Castle

Main Hall of Shurijo Castle

The weather was nice so I decided to drive the 30 km (18 miles) to Naha and do some sightseeing of the famous Shurijo Castle in Naha. The map booklet I have has a number code for the various sights and I managed to convince my Japanese-only car navigation system to accept that code and suggest a route. For most of the way I ignored its navigation suggestions because I was going the slower route 58 instead of the Okinawa Expressway. I wanted to see the various (pretty ugly) cities on the way: Yomitan, Kadena, etc. In downtown Naha, though, the navigation system came in handy. It got me where I wanted without any detours. I spent some 2 hours walking through the grounds. There were already plenty of Japanese tourists around even though the tourist season has not started yet. I was surprised how relaxed and happy they were two days after the big earthquake on the Japanese mainland. After last weekend’s visit at Zakimi Castle where only ruins are left, it was nice to see Shurijo Castle which was rebuilt after WW II. That gave me a very good idea how the other castle might have looked like. I made of course (way to many) photos which you can find in this Picasa Album. On my way home, I could not convince the car navigation system that I am going home and it kept suggesting U-turns at every intersection. I still need to figure out how to turn it off or how to tell it to tell me the way home. One step at a time, I guess.

3 Responses to Shurijo Castle

  1. Julie says:

    Very nice colors on the castle. You didn’t mention it, but did you get to go inside? Is it still used?

    • Alf says:

      I posted some pictures from the inside of the Main Hall. There was another section inside where picture taking was not allowed.
      The castle is used only for Okinawa state parties and receptions.

      • Julie says:

        I realized you did get inside after look at all of the pictures. Josh and I especially liked the carved lions. I’m interested in why this is an enduring symbol for Japan. I doubt there were ever lions on the islands.

Leave a comment